Edit Site After Publishing

Can I edit my site after I publish it? Can I do more major maintenance? 

Yes! You can edit your site at any time after publishing and it'll be done the same way as you were editing it before publishing. All of your changes can be made live so that your viewers can be kept up to date.

(Hit "PUBLISH" after you preview your site. There is about a delay for custom domains, but hitting publish will show your changes immediately -- this is because we  use a CDN to make sure your site is fast in any country and always online!)

What about major changes?

Maybe you don't want to have your users see all the changes you are making. Here are a couple of things you can do:

Keep saving but don't publish until you're ready (All Users)

The live version is different from the editor/saved/preview version. Thus, you can simply keeping editing and saving (and logging out), until you are ready to publish! Click here to read more about Publish!

Clone the site (All users)

If you go to strikingly.com and log in, you'll be at the dashboard. Here you can use the "clone" button -- it looks like two sheets of paper -- to make a copy of your website. Then, you can edit one while leaving the other untouched.

If you have a domain and  you're ready to switch to the new version of your site...

    1. Go to your 1st version and delete the domain in "custom domain" settings.
    2. Go to the 2nd version, and add your domain.
    3. Hit Publish to push the changes.
    4. You don't need to make any changes on the domain registrar side!

Password protection (Pro users)

You can also add a password to your page so that it looks like this for all viewers: http://www.strikingly.com/password

Go to "Settings > Show Advanced > Privacy" to set this up!

 

Let us know if you have any questions at support@strikingly.com or chat with us.

Have more questions? Submit a request